< Full site
Navajo-Hopi Observer Mobile

2013 National Historic Landmark Photo Contest underway

It is no joke that on April 1, the National Park Service (NPS) launched its 14th annual National Historic Landmark Photo Contest.

"National historic landmarks demonstrate the diverse history that can be seen all across this great nation," National Park Service Director Jonathan B. Jarvis said. "Wherever you may be, in a city or in the countryside, in a historic neighborhood or at the seashore, you are likely to encounter a landmark to photograph and share in the contest."

Contest entrants can choose over 2,500 national historic landmarks across the country. From Harriett Beecher Stowe's House in Hartford, Conn. to Alcatraz Prison in San Francisco Bay, from the Ford River Rouge Complex in Dearborn, Mich. to the Edmund Pettus Bridge in Selma, Ala., national historic landmarks capture the diversity of the American story.

This year's challenge theme is "My Observation." NPS allows one photo per national historic landmark and as many as 10 photo entries per photographer.

The contest is open through July 9 at midnight EDT. Additional information and complete contest rules may be found on the 2013 NHL Photo Contest page, www.nps.gov/history/nhl/2013photocontest/.

About National Historic Landmarks

The Secretary of the Interior designates nationally significant historic places as national historic landmarks because they possess exceptional value or quality in illustrating or interpreting the heritage of the United States. A National Historic Landmark may be a historic building, site, structure, object, or district. Working with citizens throughout the nation, the National Historic Landmarks Program of the National Park Service draws upon the expertise of NPS staff to identify and nominate new landmarks and to provide technical assistance to existing landmarks.

More information about the National Historic Landmarks Program may be found by visiting www.nps.gov/history/nhl/.


Navajo-Hopi Observer Home

< Full site